JEFFERSON CITY PUBLIC SCHOOLS BOARD OF EDUCATION MINUTES OF REGULAR MEETING JUNE 22, 2015

CALL TO ORDER

The regular meeting of the Board of Education was called to order by President John Ruth at 6:00 p.m. President Ruth asked the valedictorian and co-salutatorians of the graduating class of 2015 to lead the group in the Pledge of Allegiance.

ROLL CALL

Roll call was taken with all members present: Pam Murray, Steve Bruce, Doug Whitehead, John Ruth, Dennis Nickelson, Michael Couty, and Ken Theroff. A quorum was established.

RECOGNITIONS

President Ruth recognized the following 2015 co-salutatorians: Morgan John, Isaac Roling, Andrew Hansen, Rowan Bond, Kimberlyn Eversman, Harrison McIntosh, Sabrina Tannehill, Louisa Nylander, Lauren Mustoe, Michael Koestner, Lyric Stotler, Margaret Albert, Salena Fessehaye, Darby Brundage, Marissa York, Caleb Hankins, Kaley Ruff, Gage Raithel, Tori Bonnot, Margo Mendez, Mary Newman, Victoria Chan, Gregory Treiman, Michaela Kraus, Spencer Bone, David Steinmeyer, Sidney McMillan as well as the 2015 valedictorian Meredith Manda. Those present were given a certificate of recognition from the Board and those who were not present were mailed their certificates.

Dr. Mitchell, on behalf of the district and the Board, presented a plaque to Dr. Dennis Nickelson in recognition of his past year of service to the students of the district as Board President. President Ruth also recognized Superintendent Mitchell for his six years of service to the students of the district.

APPROVAL OF AMENDED AGENDA

A motion to approve the amended agenda (adding Dr. Mitchell's recognition and removing items H and I from the Consent Agenda) was made by Michael Couty and seconded by Doug Whitehead. Discussion followed. The motion was approved with the following vote: Ayes-7. Nays-0. Absent-0. Abstentions-0.

Pam Murray presented a motion to table items VII. H and I (Athletic Trainer Contracts) from the Consent Agenda until such time as the actual contracts could be presented for consideration. Michael Couty seconded. Discussion followed.

Ken Theroff presented a motion for the board to approve the services in the contracts by giving the Athletic Director, Mark Caballero, the authority to bridge the gap between the execution of the contract and trainer coverage for the students participating in summer athletic programs until the contracts are finalized according to this recommendation then to return in July to decide on whatever proposal Mr. Cabellero makes with regard to the contracts. Steve seconded. After discussion, Ken Theroff withdrew his motion and Steve Bruce withdrew his second.

Pam Murray's motion to table items VII. H and I was then voted upon. The motion was approved with the following vote: Ayes-7. Nays-0. Absent-0. Abstentions-0.

OPEN FORUM

No one came forward to address the Board during open forum.

CONSENT AGENDA ITEMS

President Ruth presented the Consent Agenda items (without items VII. H and I) for approval. See pages 3-68 of the packet. The items included the minutes of the May 11, May 12, and May 26 open meetings and the closed minutes of May 11 and 12, 2015, transfer of funds, disbursements, personnel and contracts. With a motion by Dennis Nickelson and a second by Doug Whitehead, the consent agenda items (minus item VII. H and I) were approved with the following vote: Ayes-7. Nays-0. Absent-0. Abstentions-0.

BOARD OF EDUCATION MINUTES

JUNE 22, 2015

REPORTS/COMMUNICATIONS

District Activities and Athletics Report

Mr. Mark Cabellero, JCPS Activities Director, provided the Board with a comprehensive look at all sports and activities for the 2014-2015 school year. The report was presented as a separate attachment to the packet to be included in the official minute book.

Superintendent's Report

Dr. Mitchell reflected upon the past six years of his superintendency in the district and thanked the Board for their support.

FUTURE DATES

President Ruth reminded members of the upcoming events as listed on the agenda.

OLD BUSINESS

There was no old business to bring before the Board.

NEW BUSINESS

2014-15 Budget Revisions

Mr. Jason Hoffman, CFO/COO, presented an amendment to the 2014-15 District budget. See pages 70-71 of the packet. A motion to amend the 2014-15 budgeted revenues, expenditures, and transfers to actual revenues, expenditures, and transfers was presented by Doug Whitehead. The motion was seconded by Dennis Nickelson and carried with the following vote: Ayes-7. Nays-0. Abstentions-0.

2015-16 Annual Budget

Mr. Jason Hoffman also provided the Board with the 2015-2016 annual budget (provided under separate cover to the Board and attached to the original minutes). He told the Board the District remains in a very strong financial position with adequate fund balances and maintains a competitive salary schedule and benefit package allowing the district to recruit and retain an excellent staff. He also stated the budget includes funding the salary schedule steps for certified staff but at this time, but does not include an increase to the base salary. The budget also includes an average 1.8% increase for all classifications of employees. He also stated in keeping with future plans, the district will continue to spend down its reserves until the fund reaches approximately 20%. A motion to adopt the 2015-2016 annual budget as presented was made by Doug Whitehead and seconded by Steve Bruce. The motion carried with the following vote: Ayes-7. Nays-0. Absent-0. Abstentions-0.

Debt Underwriting Firm Engagement

Mr. Hoffman also presented information regarding the engagement of the firm of Stifel Nicolaus as the underwriting firm for any future plans to bring issues to the voters. A motion was made by Ken Theroff to accept the recommendation of the administration to engage Stifel Nicolaus and seconded by Dennis Nickelson. The motion carried with the following vote: Ayes-7. Nays-0. Absent-0. Abstentions-0.

ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business to come before the board, a motion was made by Doug Whitehead and seconded by Michael Couty to adjourn the meeting at 8:40 p.m. The motion carried with the following vote: Ayes-7. Nays-0. Absent-0. Abstentions-0.

John Ruth, President

Claudia Borgmeyer, Secretary